Added to wish list Already added to wishlist
  • Signature Tours
  • 11 Days

Eleven days, three countries and a must for Caucasus fans

  • Baku
  • Gobustan
  • Absheron
  • Shamakhi
  • Sheki
  • Signagi
  • Bodbe
  • Tbilisi
  • Mtskheta
  • Uplistsikhe
  • Sadakhlo
  • Haghpat
  • Sevansee
  • Yerevan
  • Etschmiadzin
  • Garni
  • Geghard

Honestly, it's not easy to organise this trip. But worth all the effort. And we love it. Because
Baku, Tbilisi and Yerevan are the three capitals of the Southern Caucasus that you should see
to better understand one of the most culturally diverse regions in the world. Our ten-day tour
is certainly not a club holiday, but it is the ideal trip for culture-loving city travellers who are
sick of the crowded boulevards of must-see cities.

  • Season: April - November 2024
  • Group size: 2-25 people

Deniz Inn City Hotel

*** | Standard

A nice mid-range hotel located 300 m from Fountain Square and 1.9 km from Baku Train Station.

Azcot

**** | Superior

The hotel is located near the Fountain Square, in a 19th-century building. The old town is only 200 m away. Everywhere you will find nice street cafes, restaurants and bars.

1Day: Baku - Big Money at the Caspian Sea

First of all, arrive calmly and let the impressions of the day sink in. After all, the journey to Baku is a trip in itself. And the richest and largest city in the region thanks to oil, gas and other natural resources has a lot of exciting things to offer. After all the hustle and bustle, a few relaxing hours at the hotel or on the beach promenade on the Caspian Sea round off the day perfectly.

  • 35 km
  • -
Arrival in Baku

2Day: Baku City Tour and Gobustan National Park

With local guide, panoramic city tour and visiting historical and architectural monuments offer a good view of the capital of Azerbaijan: the medieval part of the city - Ichiari Shiakhar, the Palace of Shirvan-Shakhs, the Maiden's Tower, medieval bathhouses, Karavansaray, handicraft workshops, carpet and antique shops.
Next on the itinerary is a visit to the Gobustan National Park, located south of Baku between the Greater Caucasus and the Caspian Sea. Prehistoric people once lived here, leaving behind numerous rock drawings - petroglyphs. The world-famous mud volcanoes are of course part of the excursion.
Of course, there is also some time for exploring on your own. Or for a relaxed stroll along the boulevard. Or - if the weather cooperates - for a boat trip on the Caspian Sea.

  • 130 km
  • B
Baku – Gobustan – Baku

3Day: Time travel: from the oriental farmers' market to Zaha Hadid

Oil has made Baku rich. But even before that, the largest city in the South Caucasus was the cultural centre of the region. From then to now - that's what the third day in Baku is all about: with a visit to a farmers' market with oriental spices and sweets and the old Zoroastrian temple Ateshgyah (House of Fire) on the Absheron peninsula. Incidentally, the area around the temple is world-famous for a unique natural phenomenon: the natural gas fire on Yanardag.
With a visit to the Heydar Aliyev Centre, designed by the Iraqi-British architect Zaha Hadid and known for its distinctive architecture, our little journey back in time ends in the here and now - one might almost say in the future.

  • 80 km
  • B
Baku – Absheron Peninsula – Baku

Issam

*** | Standard

A small hotel with all basic facilities, close to the city center. The hotel has an indoor Swimming pool and sauna.

Sheki Palace

**** | Superior

This property is less than 5 minutes’ walk from Old Khan Palace and Karvansaray. Rooms are decorated with fine fabrics and elegant furniture. In addition one can enjoy Turkish bath, indoor swimming pool and sauna.

4Day: Road trip to Tbilisi: from Baku to Sheki

Our road trip starts early in the morning. The first stops are Shamakhi and the visit of the Great Mosque, the Yeddi Mausoleum, the Gumbez and the Juma Mosque. The next stop on this day is Sheki, which has a lot to offer with its medieval old town, the fortress (18th century), the Khans Palace, the mosque and the caravanserai. Of course, a visit to the artisans and their workshops for the production of stained glass windows - the Shebaka - is also on the programme.

  • 340 km
  • B
Baku – Shamakhi – Sheki

Gureli

*** | Standard

A small cozy hotel 10 mins walk from the old town and 5 mins from Avlabari metro station.

Sole Palace

**** | Superior

5 min walk from Sulfur Baths, great city view, cozy rooms with photos of old Tbilisi

5Day: On the wine route

In the morning we say goodbye to Azerbaijan. Hello Georgia! Hello homeland of wine. Border formalities, vehicle and guide changes are organised and the journey continues in a relaxed manner through Georgia's largest wine-growing region: Kakheti.
Our route leads via Signagi, which lies on a hill above the wide Alazani valley. The remains of the 18th century fortress walls enclose the town. Our journey continues to the church of St. George in the village of Bodbe. It is dedicated to Saint Nino, who brought Christianity to Georgia as early as the 4th century.
When choosing the route, we paid special attention to the Georgian method of making wine in underground clay vessels. Its history already counts 8,000 vintages and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. And of course, before arriving in Tbilisi, the programme includes a visit to a local winery as well as a multi-faceted wine tasting.

  • 280 km
  • B
Sheki – Lagodekhi – Signagi – Bodbe – Tbilisi

6Day: Tracing the modern lifestyle on historical paths

At the foot of the Narikala Fortress lies the historical part of Tbilisi. And if you want to be enchanted by romantic narrow streets, beautiful facades and picturesque sights, Tbilisi is the place to be. Our special city tour takes one past the Metechi Church, the Synagogue, the Sioni Cathedral, the Peace Bridge, the Anchiskhati Church and the famous Sulphur Baths, which are located next to each other.
But modern Tbilisi also has a lot to offer that is worth seeing. After all, Georgia's capital is, in addition to all its history, also a centre of attraction for free spirits, globetrotters and digital nomads. This quickly becomes clear during a city walk through the Sololaki or Betlemi districts with their narrow alleys, interesting architecture and many small cafés.

  • B
Tbilisi

7Day: Around Tbilisi

From Mtskheta - the ancient capital of Georgia - the Christianisation of Georgia started in the 4th century. The Svetitskhoveli Cathedral from the 11th century is still the spiritual centre of the country today. It is not without reason that the visit to these two sites is at the beginning of our tour around Tbilisi.
The Jvari Monastery follows. Built on a high rock, it offers a breathtaking view of the confluence of the Aragvi and Mtkvari rivers.
The cave town of Uplistsikhe, near Gori, has served both as a dwelling and a place for pagan rituals over the centuries. The functional aspects of the city are still clearly visible in its remains, including an ancient theatre, the hall for pagan rituals, wine cellars, etc. Right! This is where the Silk Road ran, the traces of which are still visible today. We think: very very very worth seeing!

  • 240 km
  • B
Tbilisi – Mtskheta – Uplistsikhe – Tbilisi

Cascade

*** | Standard

Cozy hotel situated near the Cascade Complex, away from city center urban noise.

Ani Central Inn

*** | Superior

Located in the center of Yerevan, 900 m. from Republic Square, a 3-minute walk from Zoravar Andranik Metro Station. The hotel offers indoor swimming pool and a sauna. Various dining options are a 10-minute walk from the hotel.

8Day: Off to Yerevan

New day. New country. New luck: off to Armenia. We start with what is probably one of the most interesting monastery complexes in the country. And it goes without saying that the Haghpat monastery complex (976 AD) is on the UNESCO World Heritage List. After all, it is one of the outstanding works of medieval Armenian architecture.
The journey continues to Lake Sevan - the "Emerald of Armenia" is the second largest alpine freshwater lake in the world and the largest in the Caucasus. It lies about 1,900 metres above sea level and occupies a large part of Armenia's surface area.
On the Sevan Peninsula, a visit to the Sevan Monastery is on the programme before heading to the hotel in Yerevan.

  • 325 km
  • B
Tbilisi – Sadakhlo – Lake Sevan – Yerevan

9Day: Stones, churches, temples and a legendary brandy

An important part of our tour of Armenia's capital is a visit to the Tsitsernakaberd memorial park and site before continuing on to Echmiadzin, just 20 km from Yerevan. Echmiadzin Cathedral is known as the centre of the Armenian Church and appears to be one of the first Christian state churches in the world.
On the way back to Yerevan, we stop at the ruins of the Temple of Zvartnots, a pearl of 7th century architecture that has been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The late afternoon and evening are at leisure. Those who wish can, for example, visit the Yerevan Brandy Factory, founded in 1887. An insider tip, the bar offers various old and Chateau brandy varieties for tasting.

  • 100 km
  • B
Yerevan – Echmiadzin – Yerevan

10Day: On the trail of the Bible

If you are interested in the history of Christianity, a visit to the Matenadaran with its historical documents from all over Europe and Asia from many centuries is a real highlight. Here, for example, is the first copy of the Bible in Armenian and the Gospels, which fascinate with their beautiful miniatures.
The citadel and the pagan temple of Garni are our next destination. They are a picturesque monument from Hellenistic times and an impressive testimony to ancient Armenian architecture. And northeast of Garni, high above the gorge of the Azat River, lies a magnificent monument of medieval Armenian architecture - the Geghard Monastery, which has been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

  • 80 km
  • B
Yerevan – Garni – Geghard – Yerevan

11Day: Departure

Transfer to the Airport. Departure. 

  • 15 km
  • B

Zur Wunschliste hinzugefügt Bereits zur Wunschliste hinzugefügt
  • Signature Tours
  • 11 Tage

Elf Tage, drei Länder und ein Muss für Kaukasus-Fans

  • Baku
  • Gobustan
  • Absheron
  • Shamakhi
  • Sheki
  • Signagi
  • Bodbe
  • Tbilisi
  • Mzcheta
  • Uplisziche
  • Sadachlo
  • Haghpat
  • Sevansee
  • Yerevan
  • Etschmiadzin
  • Garni
  • Geghard

Ganz ehrlich: einfach ist es nicht, diese Reise zu organisieren. Aber alle Mühe wert. Und wir
lieben sie. Denn Baku, Tiflis und Yerevan sind die drei Hauptstädte des südlichen Kaukasus,
die man gesehen haben sollte, um eine der kulturell vielfältigsten Regionen der Welt besser
zu verstehen. Unsere zehntägige Tour ist sicher kein Cluburlaub, aber die ideale Reise für
kulturbegeisterte Städtereisende, die die überlaufenen Boulevards der Städte, die man
unbedingt gesehen haben muss, nicht mehr sehen können.

  • Reisezeit: April - November 2024
  • Gruppengröße: 2-25 Personen

Deniz Inn City Hotel

*** | Standard

Ein nettes Mittelklassehotel, 300 m vom Brunnenplatz und 1,9 km vom Bahnhof Baku entfernt.

Azcot

**** | Superior

Das Hotel befindet sich nahe des Springbrunnenplatzes, in einem Gebäude aus dem 19. Jahrhundert. Die Altstadt ist nur 200 m entfernt. Überall findet man nette Straßencafes, Restaurants und Bars.

1Tag: Baku - Big Money am Kaspischen Meer

Erst einmal in aller Ruhe ankommen und die Eindrücke des Tages auf sich wirken lassen. Schließlich ist der Weg nach Baku schon eine Reise für sich. Und die dank Öl, Gas und anderer Bodenschätze reichste und größte Stadt der Region hat viel Spannendes zu bieten. Nach all dem Trubel runden ein paar entspannte Stunden im Hotel oder an der Strandpromenade am Kaspischen Meer den Tag perfekt ab.

  • 35 km
  • -
Ankunft in Baku

2Tag: Baku City Tour und Gobustan National Park

Mit ortskundigem Guide bieten Panorama-Stadtrundfahrt und die Besichtigung historischer und architektonischer Denkmäler einen guten Blick auf die Hauptstadt Aserbaidschans: den mittelalterlichen Teil der Stadt - Ichiari Shiakhar, den Palast von Shirvan-Shakhs, den Jungfernturm, mittelalterliche Badehäuser, Karavansaray, Kunsthandwerkstätten, Teppichund Antiquitätenläden.
Als nächstes ist der Besuch des südlich von Baku zwischen Großem Kaukasus und Kaspischem Meer gelegene Gobustan-Nationalpark geplant. Hier lebten einst prähistorische Menschen, die zahlreiche Felszeichnungen - Petroglyphen - hinterließen. Die weltberühmten Schlammvulkane sind selbstverständlich Teil der Exkursion.
Für Erkundungstouren auf eigene Faust bleibt natürlich auch etwas Zeit. Oder für einen entspannten Bummel über den Boulevard. Oder - wenn das Wetter mitspielt - für eine
Bootsfahrt auf dem Kaspischen Meer.

  • 130 km
  • F
Baku – Gobustan – Baku

3Tag: Zeitreise: vom orientalischen Bauernmarkt bis Zaha Hadid

Das Öl hat Baku reich gemacht. Doch schon vorher war die größte Stadt im Südkaukasus das kulturelle Zentrum der Region. Von damals bis heute - darum geht es am dritten Tag in Baku: mit einem Besuch auf einem Bauernmarkt mit orientalischen Gewürzen und Süßigkeiten und
dem alten zoroastrischen Tempel Ateshgyah (Haus des Feuers) auf der Halbinsel Absheron. Die Umgebung des Tempels ist übrigens weltberühmt für ein einzigartiges Naturphänomen: das natürliche Erdgasfeuer am Yanardag.

Mit dem Besuch des Heydar Alijew Zentrums, das von der irakisch-britischen Architektin Zaha Hadid entworfen wurde und für seine unverwechselbare Architektur bekannt ist, endet unsere kleine Zeitreise ins Hier und Jetzt - man möchte fast sagen in die Zukunft.
 

  • 80 km
  • F
Baku – Halbinsel Absheron – Baku

Issam

*** | Standard

Ein einfaches Hotel mit allen Grundeinrichtungen, nahe des Stadtzentrums. Das Hotel verfügt über ein Hallenbad und Sauna.

Sheki Palace

**** | Superior

Diese Unterkunft liegt weniger als 5 Gehminuten vom alten Khan-Palast und Karvansaray entfernt. Die Zimmer sind mit edlen Stoffen und eleganten Möbeln eingerichtet. Darüber hinaus kann man ein türkisches Bad, ein Hallenbad und eine Sauna genießen.

4Tag: Roadtrip nach Tiflis: von Baku nach Sheki

Unser Roadtrip beginnt am frühen Morgen. Die ersten Stationen sind Shamakhi und die Besichtigung der großen Moschee, des Yeddi-Mausoleums, des Gumbez und der Juma-Moschee. Etappenziel an diesem Tag ist Sheki, das mit seiner mittelalterlichen Altstadt, der Festung (18. Jh.), dem Khanspalast, der Moschee und der Karawanserei viel zu bieten hat. Natürlich steht auch ein Besuch bei den Kunsthandwerkern und ihren Werkstätten zur Herstellung von Glasfenstern - den Shebaka - auf dem Programm.

  • 340 km
  • F
Baku – Shamakhi – Sheki

Gureli

*** | Standard

Ein kleines gemütliches Hotel, 10 Min. Fußweg von der Altstadt und 5 Min. von der U-Bahnstation Avlabari entfernt.

Sole Palace

**** | Superior

5 Min. Fußweg von Schwefelbädern entfernt, toller Stadtblick, gemütliche Zimmer mit Fotos vom alten Tbilisi

5Tag: Auf den Spuren des Weins

In der Früh heißt es Abschied nehmen von Aserbaidschan. Hallo Georgien! Hallo Heimatland des Weins. Grenzformalitäten, Fahrzeug- und Führerwechsel sind organisiert und die Reise geht entspannt weiter durch Georgiens größtes Weinanbaugebiet: Kakheti.
Unsere Strecke führt über Signagi, das auf einem Hügel liegt und das weite Alazani-Tal überblickt. Die Überreste der Festungsmauern aus dem 18. Jahrhundert umschließen die Stadt. Weiter geht unsere Reise über die Kirche St. Nino im Dorf Bodbe. Sie ist der heiligen Nino gewidmet, die bereits im 4. Jahrhundert das Christentum nach Georgien brachte.
Besonderes Augenmerk haben wir bei der Wahl der Strecke der georgischen Methode der Weinherstellung in unterirdischen Tongefäßen gewidmet. Ihre Geschichte zählt bereits 8.000 Jahrgänge und gehört zum UNESCO-Welterbe. Und selbstverständlich steht vor der Ankunft in Tiflis neben der Besichtigung einer lokalen Weinkellerei auch eine vielschichtige Weinprobe auf dem Programm.

  • 280 km
  • F
Sheki – Lagodekhi – Signagi – Bodbe – Tbilisi

6Tag: Tiflis bei Tag. Und bei Nacht.

Am Fuße der Narikala-Festung liegt der historische Teil von Tiflis. Und wer sich von romantischen, engen Gassen, schönen Fassaden und malerischen Sehenswürdigkeiten verzaubern lassen möchte, ist in Tiflis genau richtig. Unsere besondere Stadtrundfahrt führt vorbei an der Metechi-Kirche, der Synagoge, der Sioni-Kathedrale, der Friedensbrücke, der Anchiskhati-Kirche und den berühmten Schwefelbädern, die nebeneinander liegen.
Aber auch das moderne Tbilissi hat viel Sehenswertes zu bieten, schließlich ist Georgiens Hauptstadt neben aller Geschichte auch Anziehungspunkt für Freigeister, Globetrotter und digitale Nomaden. Das wird bei einem Stadtspaziergang durch die Viertel Sololaki oder Betlemi mit ihren engen Gassen, der interessanten Architektur und den vielen kleinen Cafés schnell klar.

  • F
Tbilisi

7Tag: Rund um Tiflis

Von Mzcheta - der alten Hauptstadt Georgiens - ging im 4. Jahrhundert die Christianisierung Georgiens aus. Die Svetitskhoveli-Kathedrale aus dem 11. Jahrhundert ist bis heute das geistliche Zentrum des Landes. Nicht umsonst steht die Besichtigung dieser beiden Stätten am Anfang unserer Rundfahrt rund um Tiflis.
Es folgt das Jvari-Kloster. Auf einem hohen Felsen erbaut, bietet es einen atemberaubenden Blick auf den Zusammenfluss der Flüsse Aragvi und Mtkvari.
Die Höhlenstadt Uplistsikhe in der Nähe von Gori diente im Laufe der Jahrhunderte sowohl als Wohnstätte als auch als Ort für heidnische Rituale. Die funktionalen Aspekte der Stadt sind in ihren Überresten noch deutlich sichtbar, darunter ein antikes Theater, die Halle für heidnische Rituale, Weinkeller usw. Richtig! Hier verlief die Seidenstraße, deren Spuren noch heute sichtbar sind. Wir meinen: sehr sehr sehr sehenswert!

  • 240 km
  • F
Tbilisi – Mzcheta – Uplisziche – Tbilisi

Cascade

*** | Standard

Gemütliches Hotel in der Nähe der Kaskade, abseits vom städtischen Lärm im Stadtzentrum.

Ani Central Inn

*** | Superior

Das Hotel liegt im Zentrum von Eriwan, 900 m. vom Platz der Republik, 3 Gehminuten vom U-Bahnhof Zoravar Andranik entfernt. Das Hotel bietet ein Hallenbad und eine Sauna. Verschiedene Restaurants sind 10 Gehminuten vom Hotel entfernt.

8Tag: Auf nach Yerevan

Neuer Tag. Neues Land. Neues Glück: Auf nach Armenien. Wir starten gleich mit einem der wohl sehenswertesten Klosterkomplexe des Landes. Und dass der Klosterkomplex Haghpat (976 n. Chr.) auf der Liste des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes steht, versteht sich von selbst. Schließlich gehört es zu den herausragenden Werken der mittelalterlichen armenischen Architektur.
Weiter geht die Reise zum Sewansee - der Smaragd Armeniens" ist der zweitgrößte alpine Süßwassersee der Welt und der größte im Kaukasus. Er liegt etwa 1.900 Meter über dem Meeresspiegel und nimmt einen großen Teil der Fläche Armeniens ein.
Auf der Sewan-Halbinsel steht die Besichtigung des Sewan-Klosters auf dem Programm, bevor es zum Hotel nach Yerevan geht.

  • 325 km
  • F
Tbilisi – Sadachlo – Sevansee – Yerevan

9Tag: Steine, Kirchen, Tempel und ein Brandy

Wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Rundfahrt durch Armeniens Hauptstadt ist der Besuch des Gedenkparks und der Gedenkstätte Tsitsernakaberd, bevor es weiter nach Etschmiadzin geht, das nur 20 km von Yerevan entfernt ist. Die Kathedrale von Etschmiadzin ist als Zentrum der armenischen Kirche bekannt und scheint eine der ersten christlichen Staatskirchen der Welt zu sein.
Auf dem Rückweg nach Yerevan halten wir an den Ruinen des Zvartnots-Tempels, einer Perle der Architektur des 7. Jahrhunderts, die von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt wurde. Der Spätnachmittag und der Abend stehen zur freien Verfügung. Wer möchte, kann zum Beispiel die 1887 gegründete Yerevan Brandy Factory besichtigen. Ein Geheimtipp, denn die Bar bietet verschiedene alte und Chateau Brandy Sorten zur Verkostung an.

  • 100 km
  • F
Yerevan – Echmiadzin – Yerevan

10Tag: Auf den Spuren der Bibel

Wer sich für die Geschichte des Christentums interessiert, für den ist der Besuch des Matenadaran mit seinen historischen Dokumenten aus ganz Europa und Asien aus vielen Jahrhunderten ein echtes Highlight. Hier befinden sich zum Beispiel das erste Exemplar der Bibel in armenischer Sprache und die Evangelien, die durch ihre wunderschönen Miniaturen faszinieren.
Die Zitadelle und der heidnische Tempel von Garni sind unser nächstes Ziel. Sie sind ein pittoreskes Monument aus hellenistischer Zeit und ein beeindruckendes Zeugnis altarmenischer Architektur. Und nordöstlich von Garni, hoch über der Schlucht des Azat-Flusses, liegt ein großartiges Denkmal der mittelalterlichen armenischen Architektur - das
Kloster Geghard, das von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt wurde.

  • 80 km
  • F
Yerevan – Garni – Geghard – Yerevan

11Tag: Abreisetag

Transfer zum Flughafen. Abflug. 

  • 15 km
  • F